

# **Borough of Douglas**

Town Hall,

Douglas,

11<sup>th</sup> May, 2022

At an ANNUAL MEETING of the COUNCIL of the BOROUGH OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 3.00 p.m. on WEDNESDAY, the 11<sup>th</sup> day of MAY, 2022, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, within the TOWN HALL, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

# The Mayor

# COUNCILLOR MS J. THOMMENY, JP

# Councillors

Miss N.A. Byron	Mr S.R. Crellin
Mr J.E. Skinner	Mr F. Schuengel
Mr A.J. Bentley	Mrs C.L. Wells
Mr I.J.G. Clague, MBE	Mr F. Horning
Mr D.R. Watson	Mr P.L. Washington

The Director of Environment and Regeneration (as Acting Chief Executive) and the Director of Finance were in attendance.

Apologies for absence were submitted by Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, the Chief Executive, Director of Housing and Property and the Mayor's Chaplain.

#### 1. Chair of Meeting

The retiring Mayor, Mrs R. Chatel, JP took the Chair at the commencement of the meeting.

#### 2. Election of Mayor

Nomination proposed by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells, seconded by Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, "That Councillor Ms J. Thommeny be elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas for the forthcoming municipal year 2022/23."

Question put on Nomination: a vote was taken electronically, and the Nomination was carried unanimously.

## 3. **Investiture of Mayor**

Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells and Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague communicated the decision of the Council in the matter of the election of Mayor to the Mayor-Elect in the Mayor's Parlour and escorted her into the Council Chamber where the Retiring Mayor invested her with the Mayor's Chain of Office.

#### 4. Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Ms J. Thommeny, made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office prescribed under Section 10 of the Local Elections Act, 1986, as follows:

"I, Ms J. Thommeny, of 23 Berrywoods Avenue, Douglas, having been elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas, for the year commencing the 11<sup>th</sup> May 2022, hereby declare that I take the said office upon myself and will duly and faithfully fulfil the duties thereof according to the best of my judgement and ability."

The Acting Chief Executive countersigned the declaration as having been made before her.

#### 5. **Appointment of Deputy Mayor**

The Worshipful the Mayor appointed Councillor Miss N.A. Byron to act as Deputy Mayor and signified the appointment to the Council in the following terms:

"In pursuance of Schedule 2 of the Local Elections Act 1986, as substituted by the Douglas Corporation Act 1988, I hereby appoint Councillor Miss N.A. Byron to act as Deputy Mayor during my illness or absence."

Resolved unanimously, "That the appointment as Deputy Mayor of Councillor Miss N.A. Byron be recorded on the minutes."

#### 6. Appointment of Chaplain; Civic Sunday Ceremony

The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council of the appointment of the Reverend Doctor Michael Brydon as Mayor's Chaplain during her term of Office, and invited Members and Officers of the Council and other public bodies, together with ratepayers and friends, to accompany her to the Civic Sunday ceremony at St. George's Church on Sunday, 3<sup>rd</sup> July, 2022.

#### 7. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Mayor – Mrs R. Chatel, JP

Motion moved by Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, seconded by Councillor Miss N.A. Byron, "That a vote of thanks of the Council be accorded to the Retiring Mayor, Mrs R. Chatel for her exemplary services as Mayor of the Borough."

Question put on Motion; a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

Mrs R. Chatel suitably replied.

## 8. Suspension of Business, Appointments of Mayor's Consort and Deputy Mayor's Consort

The Worshipful the Mayor suspended the business of the meeting whilst she presented Mr P. Glover, as Mayor's Consort, and Mr A. Teare as Deputy Mayor's Consort, with their respective badges of office.

## 9. **Minutes – 13<sup>th</sup> April, 2022**

Minutes of monthly Council meeting held on Wednesday, 13th April, 2022, were approved and signed.

#### 10. Election of Chair of the Housing and Property Committee

The Mayor invited nominations for a Member to serve as Chair of the Housing and Property Committee for the municipal year 2022 to 2023.

Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner was nominated by Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, seconded by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells.

Mr Councillor D.R. Watson was nominated by Mr Councillor P.J. Washington, seconded by Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin.

A ballot took place in which the votes were cast as follows;

Mr Councillor D.R. Watson 6

Spoilt Ballot paper

The Mayor declared Mr Councillor D.R. Watson, having obtained a simple majority of the votes of the Members present, be elected as Chair of the Housing and Property Committee for the municipal year 2022 to 2023.

## 11. Appointment of a Member to the Pensions Committee

The Mayor invited nominations for a Member to serve on the Pensions Committee for the municipal year 2022 to 2023.

Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague was nominated by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells, seconded by Mr Councillor F. Horning.

Mr Councillor D.R. Watson was nominated by Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin, seconded by Mr Councillor P.J. Washington.

A ballot took place in which the votes were cast as follows;

Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague 8
Mr Councillor D.R. Watson 3

The Mayor declared that Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, having obtained a simple majority of the votes of the Members present, be appointed to serve as a member on the Pensions Committee for the municipal year 2022 to 2023.

The Council rose at 3.40pm.

Town Clerk & Chief Executive