

Borough of Douglas

Town Hall,

Douglas,

10th May, 2017

At an ANNUAL MEETING of the COUNCIL of the BOROUGH OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 3.00 p.m. on WEDNESDAY, the 10th day of MAY, 2017, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, within the TOWN HALL, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

The Mayor

MISS DEBRA ANNE MARIE PITTS, JP

Councillors

Miss N.A. Byron	Mrs C.L. Wells
Mr S.R. Pitts	Mr F. Pabellan
Mrs R. Chatel	Mr F. Horning
Mr I.J.G. Clague, MBE	Mr R.H. McNicholl
Mr J. Joughin	Mr J.E. Skinner, JP
Mr D.W. Christian, MBE, JP	Ms K. Angela
Ms C.E. Malarkev	Mrs E.C. Ouirk

Apologies for absence were submitted by Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain and Councillor Ms J. Thommeny.

The Town Clerk and Chief Executive, Director of Finance, Director of Environment and Regeneration and Director of Housing and Property were in attendance.

Chair of Meeting

The retiring Mayor, Mr J.E. Skinner took the Chair at the commencement of the meeting.

2. Election of Mayor

Nomination proposed by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, seconded by Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey, "That Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts be elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas for the forthcoming municipal year."

Question put on Nomination: a vote was taken electronically, and the Nomination was carried unanimously.

3. **Investiture of Mayor**

Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl and Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey communicated the decision of the Council in the matter of the election of Mayor to the Mayor-Elect in the Mayor's Parlour and escorted her into the Council Chamber where the Retiring Mayor invested her with the Mayor's Chain of Office.

4. Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts, made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office prescribed under Section 10 of the Local Elections Act, 1986, as follows

"I, Debra Anne Marie Pitts, of 12 Westmoreland Court, Douglas, having been elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas, for the year commencing 10th May, 2017, hereby declare that I take the said office upon myself and will duly and faithfully fulfil the duties thereof according to the best of my judgement and ability."

The Town Clerk and Chief Executive countersigned the declaration as having been made before her.

5. **Appointment of Deputy Mayor**

The Worshipful the Mayor appointed Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts to act as Deputy Mayor and signified the appointment to the Council in the following terms:

"In pursuance of Schedule 2 of the Local Elections Act 1986, as substituted by the Douglas Corporation Act 1988, I hereby appoint Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts to act as Deputy Mayor during my illness or absence."

Resolved unanimously, "That the appointment as Deputy Mayor of Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts be recorded on the minutes."

6. Appointment of Chaplain; Civic Church Service

The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council of the appointment of The Venerable Archdeacon Andrew Brown as Mayor's Chaplain during her term of Office, and invited Members and Officers of the Council and other public bodies, together with ratepayers and friends, to accompany her to divine service at St. George's Church on Sunday, 11th June, 2017.

7. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Mayor – Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner

Motion moved by Mr Councillor D.W. Christian, seconded by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, "That the best thanks of the Council be accorded to the Retiring Mayor, Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner, for his exemplary services as Mayor of the Borough."

Question put on Motion; a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner suitably replied.

8. Suspension of Business

The Worshipful the Mayor suspended the business of the meeting whilst she presented Mrs Linda Curphey as Mayoress and Ms Paula O'Brien as Deputy Mayoress with their respective badges of office.

9. **Minutes** – 12th April, 2017

Minutes of monthly Council meeting held on Wednesday, 12th April, 2017 were approved and signed.

10. St George's Ward

The Chief Executive reported a vacancy for the Ward of St George's as a consequence of the resignation of Councillor Ms C.R. Turner with polling taking place on Thursday, 1st June, 2017. She further reported consequential vacancies in membership of the Pensions Committee and Environmental Services Committee, and a vacancy for the Council Representative on the Richmond Hill Consultative Committee.

She reported a vacancy in the Chair of the Standards Committee due to Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts' election as Mayor, a vacancy on the Housing Committee due to the resignation of Mr Councillor J. Joughin, and a vacancy on the Regeneration and Community Committee due to the resignation of the outgoing Mayor, Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner.

11. Election of Chair of Standards Committee

The Mayor invited nominations for a Member to serve as Chair of the Standards Committee for the municipal year 2017/2018.

Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey was nominated by Mr Councillor D.W. Christian, seconded by Mr Councillor J. Joughin.

Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner was nominated by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells, seconded by Councillor Mrs R. Chatel.

A ballot took place in which the votes were cast as follows;

Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey 8

Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner

The Mayor declared Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey, having obtained a simple majority of the votes of the Members present, to be elected Chair of the Standards Committee for the municipal year 2017/2018.

12. Appointment of a Member to the Standards Committee

Resolved unanimously, "That Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner be appointed to serve as a Member of the Standards Committee for the municipal year 2017/2018."

13. Appointment of a Member to the Pensions Committee

Resolved unanimously, "That Mr Councillor F. Horning be appointed to serve as a Member of the Pensions Committee for the municipal year 2017/2018."

14. Adjournment and Resumption of Meeting

The meeting adjourned as 3.45pm and resumed at 3.50pm with the same Members and officers present.

15. Appointment of Members to the Housing, Regeneration and Community and Environmental Services Committees

The Chief Executive and Town Clerk reported that during the adjournment the Executive Committee had met and appointed Members to each of the Committees as follows;

Housing Committee: Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner.

Regeneration and Community Committee: Member to be elected at the St George's Ward Bye Election.

Environmental Services Committee: Mr Councillor J. Joughin.

16. Appointment of a Member to the Richmond Hill Consultative Committee

Resolved unanimously, "That Mr Councillor J. Joughin be appointed to serve as the Council's representative on the Richmond Hill Consultative Committee for the municipal year 2017/2018."

The Council rose at 4.00pm.

Town Clerk & Chief Executive

- dulendrie