

Borough of Douglas

Town Hall,

Douglas,

13th May, 2015

At an ANNUAL MEETING of the COUNCIL of the BOROUGH OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 3.00 p.m. on WEDNESDAY, the 13th day of MAY, 2015, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, within the TOWN HALL, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

The Mayor

COUNCILLOR MRS SARA DAWN ANDREA HACKMAN, JP

Councillor

Mrs C.A. Corlett Mr D.J. Ashford Mrs R. Chatel Mr J. Joughin Mr D.W. Christian, MBE, JP Mrs C.E. Malarkey Mr G.J. Faragher

Miss D.A.M. Pitts Mr W.M. Malarkey Mr J.E. Skinner Ms K. Angela Mr S.C. Cain, JP Mrs E.C. Quirk

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, Mr Councillor E.A. Joyce and Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain.

The Chief Executive, Borough Treasurer and Borough Engineer and Surveyor were in attendance.

1. Chair of Meeting

The retiring Mayor, Mr Councillor S.C. Cain, took the Chair at the commencement of the meeting.

2. Election of Mayor

Nomination proposed by Mr Councillor D.J. Ashford, seconded by Councillor Mrs C.E. Malarkey, "That Councillor Mrs S.D.A. Hackman be elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas for the forthcoming municipal year."

Question put on Nomination: a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

3. **Investiture of Mayor**

Mr Councillor D.J. Ashford and Councillor Mrs C.E. Malarkey communicated the decision of the Council in the matter of the election of Mayor to the Mayor-Elect in the Mayor's Parlour and escorted her into the Council Chamber where the Retiring Mayor invested her with the Mayor's Chain of Office.

4. Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Mrs S.D.A. Hackman, made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office prescribed under Section 10 of the Local Elections Act, 1986, as follows:

"I, Sara Dawn Andrea Hackman, of Grange Bank, 17 Belmont Terrace, Douglas, having been elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas, for the year commencing 13th May, 2015, hereby declare that I take the said office upon myself and will duly and faithfully fulfil the duties thereof according to the best of my judgement and ability."

The Town Clerk and Chief Executive countersigned the declaration as having been made before her.

5. **Appointment of Deputy Mayor**

The Worshipful the Mayor appointed Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts to act as Deputy Mayor and signified the appointment to the Council in the following terms:

"In pursuance of Schedule 2 of the Local Elections Act 1986, as substituted by the Douglas Corporation Act 1988, I hereby appoint Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts to act as Deputy Mayor during my illness or absence."

Resolved unanimously, "That the appointment as Deputy Mayor of Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts be recorded on the minutes."

6. **Appointment of Chaplain; Civic Church Service**

The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council of the appointment of Archdeacon of Man, The Venerable Andrew Brown as Mayor's Chaplain during her term of Office, and invited Members and Officers of the Council and other public bodies, together with ratepayers and friends, to accompany her to divine service at St. George's Church on Sunday, 14th June, 2015.

7. Minute's Silence

The Council, led by the Archdeacon, stood for a minute's silence as a mark of respect to Freeman Geoff Duke, OBE who recently passed away.

8. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Mayor – Mr Councillor S.C. Cain

Resolved unanimously, "That the best thanks of the Council be accorded to the Retiring Mayor, Mr Councillor S.C. Cain, for his exemplary services as Mayor of the Borough."

Mr Councillor S.C. Cain suitably replied.

9. Minutes -8^{th} April 2015

Minutes of monthly Council meeting held on Wednesday, 8th April, 2015 were approved and signed.

10. Minutes – 22nd April 2015

Minutes of special Council meeting held on Wednesday, 22nd April, 2015 were approved and signed.

11. Suspension of Business

The Worshipful the Mayor suspended the business of the meeting whilst she presented Councillor Mrs C.E. Malarkey as Mayoress and Mr Adrian Dalton as consort to the Deputy Mayor with their respective badges of office.

The Council rose at 3.45 p.m.