

City of Douglas

City Hall,
Douglas,
6th June, 2024

At an ANNUAL MEETING of the COUNCIL of the CITY OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 3.00 p.m. on WEDNESDAY, the 8th day of MAY, 2024, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, within the CITY HALL, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

The Mayor

COUNCILLOR MRS NATALIE BYRON-TEARE, JP

Councillors

Mr I.J.G Clague, MBE	Mrs C.L. Wells
Mr A.J. Bentley	Mr F. Schuengel
Mr D.R. Watson	Ms J. Thommeny
Mr S.R. Crellin	Mr P.J. Washington

The Chief Executive, Director of Housing and Property, the Assistant Chief Officer (Finance) and the Assistant Chief Officer (Environment) were in attendance.

Apologies for absence were submitted by Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner, and Mr Councillor F. Horning.

1. Chair of Meeting

Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin was unanimously elected to take the Chair at the commencement of the meeting.

2. Election of Mayor

Nomination proposed by Councillor Ms J. Thommeny, seconded by Mr Councillor D.R. Watson, "That Councillor Mrs N.A. Bryon-Teare be elected Mayor of the City of Douglas for the forthcoming municipal year 2024/25."

Question put on Nomination: a vote was taken electronically, and the Nomination was carried unanimously.

3. **Investiture of Mayor**

Councillor Ms J. Thommeny and Mr Councillor D.R. Watson communicated the decision of the Council in the matter of the election of Mayor to the Mayor-Elect in the Mayor's Parlour and escorted her into the Council Chamber where the Acting Mayor invested her with the Mayor's Chain of Office.

4. Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Mrs N.A Bryon-Teare, made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office prescribed under Section 39 of the Elections (Keys and Local Authorities) Act 2020, as follows:

"I, Mrs N.A. Byron-Teare, of 13 Hillside Avenue, Douglas, having been elected Mayor of the City of Douglas, for the year commencing the 8th May 2024, hereby declare that I take the said office upon myself and will duly and faithfully fulfil the duties thereof according to the best of my judgement and ability."

The Chief Executive countersigned the declaration as having been made before her.

5. **Appointment of Deputy Mayor**

The Worshipful the Mayor appointed Mr Councillor P.J. Washington to act as Deputy Mayor and signified the appointment to the Council in the following terms:

"In pursuance of Section 39 of the Elections (Keys and Local Authorities) Act 2020, I hereby appoint Mr Councillor P.J. Washington to act as Deputy Mayor during my absence."

Resolved unanimously, "That the appointment as Deputy Mayor of Mr Councillor P.J. Washington be recorded on the minutes."

6. Appointment of Chaplain; Civic Sunday Ceremony

The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council of the appointment of Monsignor Devine as Mayor's Chaplain during her term of Office, and invited Members and Officers of the Council and other public bodies, together with ratepayers and friends, to accompany her to the Civic Sunday ceremony at the Cathedral Church of Saint Mary of the Isle on Sunday, 22nd September, 2024.

7. Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayoress – Letter under Seal

The Worshipful the Mayor presented the retiring Deputy Mayor, Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin and Deputy Mayoress, Mrs S. Crellin with a Letter under Seal in recognition of their service and support during the 2023/24 municipal year.

8. Suspension of Business, Appointments of Mayor's Consort and Deputy Mayoress

The Worshipful the Mayor suspended the business of the meeting whilst she presented Mr A. Teare, as Mayor's Consort, and Mrs K. Washington, as Deputy Mayoress, with their respective badges of office.

9. **Minutes – 10th April, 2024**

Minutes of monthly Council meeting held on Wednesday, 10th April, 2024 were approved and signed, subject to an amendment in Clause 14 to read 'Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts asked the Leader of the Council a written question. The question and response was circulated in private to the Council."

The Council rose at 3.35p.m.

Lahlendie

Town Clerk & Chief Executive